Skip to main content

Awards and Accomplishments

Dean’s Distinguished Awards

Extension faculty and educators from across the state met in Duluth, Oct. 3-5, for the annual program conference. One of the highlights was the dinner and presentation of the Dean’s distinguished awards, where the following were honored for their hard work and dedication. You can learn more about the 2016 distinguished award winners on our website.

Friend of Extension
Doug Peterson, President, Minnesota Farmers Union

Campus-based Faculty
Robert Koch, Extension entomologist

Field-based Faculty
David Nicolai, Extension educator

Outstanding Leadership
Tamie Bremseth, Director of Youth Development Operations

Diversity and Inclusion
Partnering for School Success Team:

Extension—Silvia Alvarez de Davila, Antonio Alba Meraz, Emily Becher, Patrick Jirik, Jeanne Laqua, Mary Marczak, Kathleen Olson, Patricia Olson, Karen Shirer and Maria Villarraga.

Triton Public Schools (Dodge Center, Claremont, West Concord)—Gabriela Burk, Luke Lutterman and Nancy Stucky.

Faribault Middle Schools—Kelly McDermott, Michael Meihak, Zulema Nieves, Heidi Oanes and Todd Sesker

Outstanding Team
Economic Impact Analysis (EIA) Program Team: Adeel Ahmed, John Bennett, Rani Bhattacharyya, Merritt Bussiere, Dan Erkkila, Bill Lazarus, Neil Linscheid, Ryan Pesch, Xinyi Qian, Bruce Schwartau, Liz Templin and Brigid Tuck, along with the University of Minnesota Crookston Economic Development Administration Center

Other awards and accomplishments
Congratulations to Dean Herzfeld, coordinator, pesticide safety and environmental education, for being named Fellow of the American Association of Pesticide Safety Educators. Fellow is the highest honor the association bestows, recognizing contributions to the association and to the nation for advancing pesticide safety education.

Congratulations to the Master Naturalist Program for receiving the Alliance of Natural Resource Outreach and Service Programs (ANROSP) award for outstanding program evaluation. They received this national award for their tenth anniversary publication and on-going collection and evaluation of data.
Print Friendly and PDF