Skip to main content

Awards and Accomplishments (March 2017)

Congratulations to the following Extension faculty and staff receiving awards in the past six months:

Rob Holcomb received the 2016 College of Continuing Education (CCE) Distinguished Educator Award. Rob’s contributions to CCE over the past five years included serving as faculty director, content specialist and instructor for the income tax short course. Rob was also involved in developing the online version of the course, which has gained national visibility.

Krishona Martinson, equine Extension specialist, was awarded the merit award at the 2017 American Forage and Grassland Council conference in Roanoke, Va. This award is presented to individuals who have made superior contributions in some phase of forage and grassland agriculture, and who have earned recognition among their colleagues for work and productivity in research, teaching, Extension, production or industrial development.

The Master Naturalist team received the Carol Mortenson Award for Team Achievement for their significant work protecting Minnesota’s natural resources from invasive species. This award is presented annually by the Minnesota Invasive Species Advisory Council to recognize contributions to the prevention, management and increased awareness of invasive species in Minnesota.

Randy Nelson, Extension educator, is a member of the Environmental Landscape Plant Evaluation Team that received the annual Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Superior Service Team Award. These awards are the highest honor conferred by AgriLife Extension to its faculty and staff, including Extension teams and partners.

Troy Salzer, local educator in Carlton County, was honored recently as Extension Educator of the Year at the Minnesota Farm Bureau 98th annual meeting. This award is given to an Extension educator who gives his or her time to promote agriculture.

Gary Wyatt and Diomy Zamora, Extension forestry educators, are part of a collaborative group whose work on living snow fences was selected as the Center for Transportation Studies (CTS) 2017 Research Partnership Award. This award recognizes teams that have drawn on the strengths of their diverse research partnerships to result in positive impacts on transportation.
Print Friendly and PDF