Skip to main content

2017 Dean's Distinguished Faculty Awards

2017 Faculty award recipients    

Dean Durgan with Dr. Krishona Martinson
Campus Faculty 
Dr. Krishona Martinson, Equine Extension Specialist and Program Leader

Krishona Martinson built the internationally recognized and highly successful Equine Extension program. The program provides relevant information to horse owners and professionals while embracing a spirit of entrepreneurialism. She is a leader in using technology to provide information on management and care of horses and also maintains a successful research program securing over $1.2 million in grant dollars for collaborative research between agronomy and equine science. Krishona boldly embraces the Extension mission by pushing herself and her team to use innovative technology to share timely and researched-based information.

Dean Durgan with Amy Rager
Field Faculty
Amy Rager, Extension Educator, Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Education

Amy Rager, statewide director of the Minnesota Master Naturalist Program (MMNP), has been instrumental in leading the program to sustainability and strength. Over 2,000 volunteers are serving in nearly every Minnesota county and a growing number of reservations. These stewards have contributed over 300,000 service hours to deliver citizen science, research-based management and
education. Amy has steered the volunteer-driven MMNP program to financial viability, including the establishment of an endowment fund to provide participant scholarships, special speakers and events. She is recognized for her critical role in launching the Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Detectors program and is a national leader in developing high quality systems and resources to improve the volunteer experience.

Dean Durgan with Dr. Dorothy McCargo Freeman
Outstanding leadership
Dr. Dorothy McCargo Freeman, Associate Dean, Extension Center for Youth Development

Dorothy McCargo Freeman has demonstrated profound leadership throughout her career. When she served as president of the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents, she led Extension to expand its reach to the most vulnerable populations. Dorothy is a servant leader who focuses on making Extension a stellar example in youth development. Under her leadership, Minnesota 4-H established systems for risk management to steward its human and financial resources in a manner that is beyond reproach. Minnesota is an example for other state 4-H programs. Dorothy’s lifetime of dedicated leadership is gratefully recognized with this award.

Dean Bev Durgan with the Deep Winter Greenhouse team
Deep Winter Greenhouse Team, Extension Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships

The Deep Winter Greenhouse project exemplifies Extension’s mission and values of responding to a community need, discovering research-based solutions and sharing the findings through outreach and education. This project is a unique component of Extension’s Regional Sustainable Development Partnership and is driven by partnerships and collaborations from the rural regions it serves. The work builds on community innovation and provides a strategy to make fresh greens available to Minnesotans through the winter. With the goal of creating profitability for small and medium sized farm operations and increased access to healthy food in rural communities, this team is making a difference within our land-grant mission and the lives of rural Minnesotans.

Team members: Dr. Kathy Draeger; Dr. John Erwin; David Fluegel; Carol Ford; Dan Handeen; Linda Kingery; Erin Meier; Dr. Carl Rosen; Greg Schweser; Alexis Troschinetz; Okey Ukaga; Dr. Sue Wika; Molly Zins

Ryan Allen
Diversity & inclusion
Dr. Ryan Allen

Ryan Allen’s research and scholarship focuses on the effects of economic shifts, social and civic structures on immigrants and people of color. His ability to build trust in diverse communities is opening up a needed and public dialogue in communities about race and poverty. Ryan provides an expert voice and resources for improving Minnesota’s diversity and inclusion responses. His commissioned report, “Immigrants and Minnesota’s Workforce” addresses the challenges linked to the slowing growth of the state’s population and labor force. Ryan’s contributions and collaborations are making a difference for all Minnesotans.

Dean Bev Durgan with Frank Jewell
Friend of Extension
Friend of Extension Frank Jewell, County Commissioner, St. Louis County

 Frank Jewell, County Commissioner in St. Louis County since 2011, current Chair of the Board and a member of the AMC Extension Committee, is a highly engaged learner and an Extension advocate. Commissioner Jewell participated in Extension’s U-Lead program and secured funding for an urban 4-H Program Coordinator in Duluth. He has also worked with the county administration and the county board to lay the groundwork for filling positions when the current county employed educators retire. We extend our warmest thanks for his many contributions to the partnership between St. Louis County

Print Friendly and PDF