Skip to main content

Awards and Accomplishments (July 2018)

Congratulations to the following Extension faculty and staff receiving awards in the past four months:

Extension Dean's Distinguished Awards: The following were recognized at the 2018 Extension Staff Conference on May 16 at the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum:
  • Nutrition Educator Award: Ann Luke, SNAP-Ed educator, seven-county metro region
  • Field Staff Award: Nancy Pieske, Murray County Extension support staff
  • Campus-based Staff Award: Colleen Byrne, executive office and administrative specialist, Extension Center for Youth Development
  • Program Staff Award: Gabriela Burk, financial capability educator, Dodge County
Carol Cardona, Pomeroy Chair in avian health and Extension specialist, was awarded the Ranelius Award by the Minnesota Turkey Growers Association (MTGA). “The Ranelius Award is the highest honor given by the association,” said MTGA President Chris Huisinga.

Becky Masterman, Extension educator and associate program director of the Bee Squad, is a recipient of the 2018 President’s Award for Outstanding Service. This award honors those who have provided exceptional service to the University that goes well beyond the regular duties of a faculty or staff member.

Mary Meyer, Extension horticulturist, is the recipient of the 2018 Teaching Award of the American Horticultural Society. This honor is given to an individual whose ability to share their horticultural knowledge with others has contributed to a better public understanding of the plant world and its important influence on society.

Congratulations to the following who received Association of Natural Resources Professionals (ANREP) awards for their work:
  • Daniel Larkin, Megan Weber, Christine Lee and Eleanor Burkett, AIS Identification Guide: A Minnesota Handbook, silver award in long publication category
  • Rob Blair, Amy Rager and Andrea Lorek Strauss, North Woods, Great Lakes: An introduction to the natural history of Minnesota's coniferous forests, bronze award in long publication category
  • Megan Weber, Amy Rager, Daniel Larkin, Mike Reichenbach, Eleanor Burkett and Angela Gupta, Flipped Classrooms and Early Detection Invasive Species, silver award in websites/social media/online courses
  • Megan Weber, Daniel Larkin, Patrick Mulcahy and Paul Skawinski, Starry Trek – AIS Snapshot Day, innovative program

Print Friendly and PDF