Skip to main content

Awards and accomplishments (March 2021)

Tom Peters, Extension sugarbeet agronomist and weed control specialist at North Dakota State University and the U of M, was awarded the 2021 Sugarbeet Distinguished Service Award by the Sugarbeet Research and Education Board of Minnesota and North Dakota. The award is presented for excellence in research for the improvement of sugarbeet production; effective educational programs for sugarbeet growers; and service to the local, regional or national sugarbeet industry.

Congratulations to the following AFNR employees who were honored by Extension professional associations and other professional associations:

Association of Natural Resource Extension Professionals
Aquatic Invasive Species Detectors Program Team, Outstanding Team: Alison Holland, Dan Larkin, Patrick Mulcahy, Amy Rager and Megan Weber

National Association of County Agricultural Agents
  • Distinguished Service Award: Jodi DeJong-Hughes
  • Achievement Award: Abby Schuft
  • “Something greater podcast,” audio recording: Emily Krekelberg (national finalist)
  • “Herbicide resistant traits,” fact sheet: Jared Goplen (national finalist)
  • “Equine biosecurity online certificate course,” learning module: Abby Schuft (national finalist)
  • “Invasive Goldenrod” and “Impossible Burger,” personal column: Shane Bugeja (national finalist)
  • “Windbreaks for poultry operations,” video presentation: Gary Wyatt (regional finalist)
  • “U of M Poultry Facebook page,” website: Abby Schuft (regional finalist)
National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
“Cottage Food Connection eNews for Minnesota Cottage Food Producers,” newsletter: Kathy Brandt and Suzanne Driessen (first place national winner)

American Association of Pesticide Safety Educators
  • “Endangered Species Outreach,” Professional Recognition Award: Tana Haugen-Brown and Claire LaCanne
  • Distinguished Achievement Award for Pesticide Safety Education: Jolene Hendrix
Entomological Society of America
Syngenta Crop Protection Award for Excellence: Bill Hutchison

North Central Weed Science Society
Distinguished Achievement Award - Professional Staff: Lisa Behnken

Print Friendly and PDF