Skip to main content

Highlighted awards and accomplishments (Nov. 2021)

You can read all about the recipients of the annual dean’s awards at U of M Extension Dean Bev Durgan honors 2021 distinguished friends, faculty and teams. In summary, here are the awards:
  • Friend of Extension: Both Minnesota Corn and Robert Jones, former University of Minnesota professor and leader currently serving as chancellor at Illinois’ land-grant university.
  • Campus-based faculty: Marcia I. Endres, Extension dairy specialist.
  • Field-based faculty award: Neil Linscheid, Extension community development educator.
  • Outstanding leadership: Regional director team, including Cecilia Amadou, Keri Cavitt, Bonnie Christiansen, Lisa Dierks, Susanne Hinrichs, Lisa Loegering, Tammy McCulloch, Kathy Schwantes, D. Craig Taylor, Lori Vicich.
  • Diversity: Craig Hassel, Extension nutritionist.
  • Team award: 2021 Minnesota State Fair 4-H team, including Extension Center for Youth Development’s Amber Greeley, director of state and county fairs; Sharon Davis, director of animal science; Jennifer Skuza, associate dean and state 4-H director; Becky Harrington, director of operations and systems; Todd Mehrkens, academic technologist; Jacquie Lonning, director of civic engagement and leadership; Kirstin Delp, State Arts-In director; Karen Nelson, executive office and administrative specialist; Extension communications team members Becky Beyers, director of communications and public relations, and Allison Sandve, news media and public relations manager; State Fair 4-H unit heads Corey Schuler, nursing; Sandy Ducharme, exhibits; Kevin Hard, food service; Dede Hard, food service; Sean Boll, housing; Lucie Goede, facilities; Kristine Schechinger, livestock; Kate Holland, registration. Minnesota State Fair’s Jill Nathe, deputy general manager; Marie LeFebvre, competition manager.
  • Program staff: Jan Jackola, Extension leadership and civic engagement educator and cohort coordinator.
  • Campus support staff: Amy Gregoria, Executive office administrative specialist, Center for Youth Development.
  • Field support staff: Diane Lambrecht, Executive office administrative specialist, 4-H and Farmington Regional Office
  • Nutrition educator: Nimo Yusuf, Extension SNAP-Ed educator
  • Staff team: Extension Human Resources, including Lisa Brownstein, Lucy Lu, Nancee Easter, Tiffany McMillan and Margaret Yzaguirre.
  • Special recognition: Racial Equity and Diversity Task Force, including Carol Cardona and Craig Hassel, Extension specialists; Hibaq Dualeh, Dana Trickey, Jocelyn Hernandez-Swanson, Jennifer Garbow, Shirley Nordrum and Kathryn Sharpe, Extension educators; Craig Taylor, regional director; Ren Olive, program associate; Lisa Wong and Sharmyn Phipps, SNAP-Ed regional coordinators.

Print Friendly and PDF